SCHUMANN, R.: Genoveva Overture / Requiem fur Mignon / Symphony No. 3 (Homage to Robert Schumann) (Dresden Staatskapelle, Harding)



You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Schumann, Robert - Composer
Genoveva, Op. 81
Symphony Fragment in C Minor (reconstructed by J. Draheim)
Abendmusik in B-Flat Major (reconstructed by J. Draheim)
Nachtlied, Op. 108
Requiem fur Mignon, Op. 98b
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97, "Rhenish"

Venue: Frauenkirche, Dresden
Date of Concert: 2010
Playing Time: 01:17:11
Television Director: Feudel, Ute
Catalogue Number: 101523
UPC: 807280152395

This concert marks the 200th anniversary of Robert Schumann's birth and offers a welcome opportunity to introduce three of the most impressive but now too rarely performed works from his Dresden period. Particular highlights - which will come as a surprise even to connoisseurs of his works - are a first performance and a world premiere of rediscovered and reconstructed symphonic movements dating from the composer's legendary "symphony year" of 1841.

Part 1

Select language:

No subtitles selected